Oh No, Technology!

Thursday 9 November, 2023
================================================================================

What's up?

I've decided to start recording activities on a website that I keep up to date with a local-first version control, so I'll tag these and have something to go back and reference later. Loosely based on the memex method

I need more plain text in my life

I have a hard time with documents, PDFs, docx's, discord messages, who knows what else. What I really need is a full-text searchable, taggable, portable text repository where I can dump all the stuff I think and save it for later.

What's really capitvated me about this concept is I used to be a prolific notes-taker. In college I'd take notes on everything, in class, in study, working through problems, clubs, whatever. I found what was really useful wasn't even reflecting back on the notes, but simply writing them seemed to lock them into my memory, I've since fallen out of the habit, and I'm hoping having somewhere I can actually move my notes in and out of will help me keep doing it.

Self ownership online and off

I do think the future is in having control and ownership of your online-life, as we put more and more of our lives on the internet, I think we need more tight personal connections with the tools we're using. This article I think shows the pitfalls of non-ownership of your online: a newslab learns a lesson about the tools underpinning their work, the same one everyone who used twitter prior to October 2022 learned.

https://newscollab.org/2023/10/27/end-of-a-journalism-experiment/

I think there is vast potential for everyone to be more integrated with the tools they use, every person should be able to publish themselves online, without fear of platforms where KSA is a major investor. It would be most efficient to have the people who use the tools create the tools with complete control over how they worked, and that's possible in a world of open standards rather than walled gardens.

Cook with me

Today's recipe is black bean soup in a slow cooker! I use a pot that I have and the oven set to abt 200 degrees, it's a very easy recipe to do

Ingredients
[ ] 1lb dried black beans
[ ] 1 yellow onion, quartered
[ ] 5 cloves garlic
[ ] 1 chipotle chile in adobo plus 1tbsp adobo sauce
[ ] 2tsp cumin
[ ] 2 bay leaves
[ ] 1/4tsp baking soda
[ ] 1tsp apple cider vinegar

Directions

  1. In a 5qt pot put the beans, onion, garlic, chile, cumin, bay leaves, baking soda and 6 cups of water and 1tsp salt and stir it all. Cover and put in oven at 200 degrees for 8+ hours, I use my workday. The beans should squish easily when it's done.
  2. Remove the bay leaves. Food process everything together until smooth, an immersion blender should work too. Stir in apple cider vinegar.
  3. Serve with shredded cheese, crusty bread, sour cream, or a combination thereof.

Check this out:

I would really like to try this tool once it comes out
https://www.inkandswitch.com/upwelling/#both-real-time-and-asynchronous-collaboration-are-needed

Epic games recently started putting crypto projects on their store
https://youtu.be/iJdCbSohWdI?si=_L8HDjQaSAzHxJrD

Aurora as seen from the sky
https://mapstodon.space/@zoom_earth/111379876150334214

Tags

#recipes #local-first #fediverse #video-essay #writing #text